Posted by: St. Mark Lutheran Church | December 8, 2010

The unfortunate results of “I think” theology…

‘I don’t feel like I’m wrong. I don’t feel like millions of people are wrong because they love who they love or they were born how they were born.’

These are the words of Amber Heard, an American actress who came out publicly at an event sponsored by the Gay and Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation (GLAAD).  You can read the story below from and English newspaper.  They reflect the sad and unfortunate results of turning your back on the Words of Holy Scripture and letting what you think or feel become the defining factor in determining what is right and wrong.

Unfortunately, this seems to be the most prevalent way for people to do theology (in combination with the “Everybody else is doing it” excuse), but let’s apply it more universally to see how it works and to see it’s foolishness and arrogance:

  • “I don’t feel like I’m wrong.  I don’t feel like millions of people are wrong because they end the life of the baby in their wombs.”
  • “I don’t feel like I’m wrong.  I don’t feel like millions of people are wrong because they steal from other people.”
  • “I don’t feel like I’m wrong.  I don’t feel like millions of people are wrong because they worship Allah and not Jesus.”
  • “I don’t feel like I’m wrong.  I don’t feel like millions of people are wrong because they divorce their husbands or wives.”
  • “I don’t feel like I’m wrong.  I don’t feel like millions of people are wrong because spread rumors, lies, and gossip.”
  • “I don’t feel like I’m wrong.  I don’t feel like millions of people are wrong because….you fill in the blank.”

“I think” theology, combined with a healthy dose of “Well, everybody else is doing it,” added to a dollop of, “Well, let me tell you why my situation is different,” leads to only one thing — despising God and His Word.  This is what Satan led Adam and Eve to do in the Garden of Eden (Genesis 3:1-6).

Unfortunately for all of us thinkers and followers, God has spoken clearly.  He has called homosexuality a sinful perversion of the normal order of things.  He has called the unlawful ending of life murder.  He has called stealing sinful.  He has called worshiping any God other than the Triune God of the Bible (Father, Son [Jesus Christ], and Holy Spirit) idolatry.  He has described His hatred of divorce and His desire for one man and one woman to live together in marriage until death parts them.  He has protected the good name and reputation of our brothers and sisters with the 8th Commandment.  And He has said that the punishment for these and all sins is death — physical and eternal death in hell.

Where God speaks, our opinions come to an end.  Peter writes (1 Peter 1:22-2:3):

Now that you have purified yourselves by obeying the truth so that you have sincere love for your brothers, love one another deeply, from the heart. For you have been born again, not of perishable seed, but of imperishable, through the living and enduring word of God. For, “All men are like grass, and all their glory is like the flowers of the field; the grass withers and the flowers fall, but the word of the Lord stands forever.”  And this is the word that was preached to you. Therefore, rid yourselves of all malice and all deceit, hypocrisy, envy, and slander of every kind. Like newborn babies, crave pure spiritual milk, so that by it you may grow up in your salvation, now that you have tasted that the Lord is good.

This Christmas, let God speak.  And listen.  Because He also says that He has provided the solution to our sins and shortcomings, our wickedness and depravity, “Today in the town of David, a Savior has been born to you, He is Christ the Lord!”  Thus says the LORD.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

