Posted by: St. Mark Lutheran Church | May 15, 2009

More Americans “pro-life” than “pro-choice”

An encouraging poll from Gallup was released today:

More Americans ‘pro-life’ than ‘pro-choice’ for the first time

Among the findings of the poll:

  • 51% of Americans identify themselves as pro-life
  • 53% say abortion should be legal under certain circumstances
  • 23% say it should be legal under no circumstances
  • 22% say it should be legal under all circumstances
  • 60% say it should be legal under few or no circumstances
  • Also, for the first time since Gallup ran this specific poll, more women identify themselves as pro-life than pro-choice

May the LORD of life and death continue to convince people that life begins at the moment of conception and that every life, no matter what it’s quality is worth preserving until He determines that life is over!

“Surely I was sinful at birth, sinful from the time my mother conceived me” (Psalm 51:5).

“At that time Mary got ready and hurried to a town in the hill country of Judea,  where she entered Zechariah’s home and greeted Elizabeth. When Elizabeth heard Mary’s greeting, the baby leaped in her womb, and Elizabeth was filled with the Holy Spirit. In a loud voice she exclaimed: “Blessed are you among women, and blessed is the child you will bear! But why am I so favored, that the mother of my Lord should come to me? As soon as the sound of your greeting reached my ears, the baby in my womb leaped for joy. Blessed is she who has believed that what the Lord has said to her will be accomplished” (Luke 1:39-45)!

“For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb.I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well. My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place. When I was woven together in the depths of the earth, your eyes saw my unformed body. All the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be” (Psalm 139:13-16).

Responses

  1. Would public opinion favor anti abortion more if WELS, LCMS, the Catholic church, Mormons, Jehovah Witnesses, etc. were more vocal (i.e. condemning) about other (Lutheran like ELCA) churches that tolerate current abortion laws and views?


Leave a Reply

Categories

